Happiness

I Got Rid of my Mirrors, and So Should You! 

What is one thing that we all wish we could have more of in our lives?
For me, it’s time.
I want more time to spend with my boys on this crazy roller coaster called life. I am in a state where I am constantly attempting to find new ways to create a more sustainable, happy and healthy life for both myself and my boys and I am learning new, wonderful ways to accomplish that daily.
How does this relate to mirrors you ask? Well let me tell you a story.
Like many women, I was obsessed with my looks. I would scour the internet looking for hot new style trends, makeup and hair advice and I would generally spend a ton of time looking in the mirror tearing myself apart and attempting new “styles” that never quite worked out. On average, women spend 55 minutes per day on their appearence! 55! That’s a whole hour out of your day! That’s close to 2 weeks per year! That’s a paid vacation man!

My old mirror, sad and stuck in a closet. Good riddance!

I recently chose to eliminate my personal self from the social media universe (yes, I know that this blog is social as is the instagram account I created for it). I followed people on instagram with “goal bodies” who spent a ton of time in the gym and only ate healthy. You know, the bikini competitors of the world. And while it’s all good and well for someone to have that lifestyle as a choice, it wasn’t working for me to try and cram into my already jam packed life. And Facebook, let’s not even comment on that drudgery!
So what this ramble boils down to is that I decided to remove the mirrors from my bathroom and stop wearing make up to see how I would feel about myself after a few weeks and how my life would change.

My vanity sans mirror, kind of tranquil really, minus the play dough!

It’s been a few weeks and I couldn’t be happier with my decision! I am so much happier when I’m not constantly judging myself. I also gain a ton of time to hang out with the boys in the morning which makes life generally better and less stressful! I save loads of money on beauty products and I feel more beautiful than ever!

The mirror I will look at occasionally in the boys room to make sure I don’t have food stuck in my teeth. Priorities.

I implore you to give it a try! If only for a few weeks, just to learn to love yourself for you and stop judging your own appearance the worst of them all! You are beautiful!! You are worth the world!! Believe in yourself and thrive!!

Leave a Reply

